We need the Google+ of Desktop Environments

This is what I came up with after having slept 9 hours straight. That’s it. I wouldn’t even call it “Desktop Environment” anymore. I would call it: Human Environment. Take Google+ or Google products in general, bring the philosophy and style to a Linux Desktop, done. So simple that even my grandma could use it, but yet complete enough for doing everyday tasks. And no, I’m not talking of having a browser as Desktop Environment, maybe I’m inconsciously just talking about Android? Ah well, I need to think about it a little bit more.

About lxnay

the creator of Sabayon Linux, Entropy Package Manager {Eit, Equo, Rigo}, Molecule release media buildsystem, Matter Portage buildbot/tinderbox and only God knows what else...

Posted in Me

Permalink 5 Comments

5 responses to “We need the Google+ of Desktop Environments

  1. Vasilache Anton Ciprian

    I don’t really understand what you are trying to say but it seems you’re on to something.

  2. Setsuna-Xero

    What we need is a return to the Unix way.. “Do one thing; do it well”

  3. Richard J.

    I think you are totaly right. We need a Desktop Enviroment which is easy to use for everyone and powerfull enough for all the professional users out there. The menus of the current UIs are overloaded, most of the functions people need, have to me at the main UI and not in some long context-menus. I think Speach will be a great input method. For example Ubuntu Unity has only the realy needed applications at the Desktop and thats enough for the most people. But there must be a menu or a control center where people can edit the whole desktop. I think KDE is a great Desktop, but in every program are the same configurations tools and most of the time, this configurations tools no one needs.
    Android is not better that a normal desktop. Android has only thousend of apps and Android is written in Java. I think Java on an embedded device is not the best decision. My milestone lags very often. For example most of the apps written for android or iOS running at iOS much faster then on an Android device.

    I’m sorry for my bad english, but I hope you understand me.

    Have a nice Day!

    Nanotron

  4. dodgefan

    wouldn’t that be called Peppermint Linux? they roll all the Google web apps up on the desktop for a cloud type environment on the desktop

  5. Shakor

    Android Linux Desktop Environment? Sounds like a very nice plan!­čÖé If you need any help optimizing let me know!

Leave a Reply

hello, twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 585 other followers

del.icio.us

