Sabayon on Amazon EC2

During the last week, while I was enjoying my vacations, I’ve also had a lot of fun preparing a new EC2-friendly kernel (and sources) based off our kernel git repo (which is based on Linus’ kernel tree + some patches like the BFQ scheduler, fbcondecor and aufs3).

The outcome of my puzzle game (trying to figure out why an instance doesn’t boot on EC2 is like solving puzzles at times) is that sys-kernel/ec2-sources and sys-kernel/linux-ec2 (precompiled binaries) are now available on the sabayon-distro overlay and the Sabayon Entropy repository “sabayonlinux.org”.

As you may expect, I rapidly started to get bored again. For this very simple reason, and since I always wanted to have a fallback website/webservices infra ready on EC2 (in case of a disaster) I started cooking an EBS baked AMI, copycating the current Virtual Machines snapshots from our backup server.

As you may expect, I rapidly started to get bored once again. So, I prepared a molecule .spec file that automatically creates a ready-to-go ext4-based Sabayon Server filesystem image tarball ready to be dumped into a spare EBS volume. Once you have an EBS volume you just need to snapshot it and create the AMI from there (fyi).

As you may expect, I was getting bored of course. So I started preparing a “BuildBot” AMI that could be launched programmatically (say, from a cronjob) and once started (@reboot cronjob target is <3), attaches an existing EBS volume containing a Sabayon chroot, runs equo update && equo upgrade and other stuff, then detaches the volume, makes a snapshot, creates a versioned AMI.
Yes, boring stuff deserve a lot of bash scripting, can’t be otherwise. In this way, I can continuosly build updated Sabayon AMIs for EC2 without much human intervention (of course the BuildBot AMI mails back to me the upgrade result (both stderr and stdout)).
If anybody is interested in my “BuildBot” scripts, just drop a line here.

I don’t know yet where to go from here, but you may be interested in reading this wiki entry: “Sabayon on EC2“. Moreover, you may be also interested in knowing that the aforementioned filesystem image tarballs are already available on Sabayon mirrors, inside the iso/daily directory.

You can have a look at the currently available Sabayon AMIs here:

About lxnay

the creator of Sabayon Linux, Entropy Package Manager {Eit, Equo, Rigo}, Molecule release media buildsystem, Matter Portage buildbot/tinderbox and only God knows what else...

One response to “Sabayon on Amazon EC2

  1. Pingback: Sabayon Linux: la liberación de su versión 10 | Gustavo Pimentel's GNU/Linux Blog

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 581 other subscribers

del.icio.us